Accepting Loss of Self

“One of my favorite examples of the Law of Divine Compensation is the life of the 20th Century artist Henri Matisse. As an old man he had arthritis so severe that he could no longer hold a paintbrush. What a tragedy this could had been for one of the greatest painters who ever lived. He found, however, that he could hold a child’s pair of scissors and use it to cut the construction paper that his grandchildren played with. This led to what art historians consider one of the greatest phases of his work: the Matisse paper cutouts.
Once again, we see the difference between form and content. The fact that on the material plane — the realm of form — Matisse’s hands could no longer work well as they had not mean that he had any less talent. In the realm of content, nothing had been diminished. Spirit created a way within the realm of form to compensate for diminishment and lack.
So when we look at life from a spiritual perspective, we realize that the loss of our job is not the loss of our calling, and the loss of money is not the loss of our wealth. Our calling and our wealth, at the deepest level, are not of the material plane and therefore cannot be taken away. Do not let the appearance of loss deter you from the realization that what is given of God is given forever.”

— The Law of Divine Compensation, Marianne Williamson

I have had a lifetime of injures, inherited illnesses and acquired disabilities.  I am now considered permanently disabled.

I have friends in social media who host some pretty good discussions, that I truly enjoy taking part in.  Until some “highly intelligent” person decides to prove how smart they are to the rest of us.  They sit back and demand rigorous proof for what I’m saying.  I used to be pretty good at this, so I generally fall into the trap.  Actually, I fall into the trap almost every time.  Then when I realize that nothing I come up with is ever going to be good enough, I get angry at myself for falling for it again.

So I sit at my computer, surrounded by all the chores that I cannot physically do anymore (which wait for my biweekly housekeeper visit).  Frustrated that I cannot do them, but fully remembering the 2 weeks I spent on the couch unable to even go to the bathroom alone.

And then, a young talented person (or maybe a group of them) decides to include me into their inner core.  For feedback and guidance and emotional support.  Yes, I can still see the spark in others’ work.  Give positive criticism to improve the end result.  Share what has worked in the past.  Show them the ropes.

Perhaps there is hope for me yet.

6 thoughts on “Accepting Loss of Self

  1. Oh yes, there certainly is hope for you yet. Blogging revolutionized my life and I hope you find your own journey enhanced as well.

  2. This is great Penny…..so proud of you……trying to figure out how to log in so I can follow. All the best wishes for your new endeavor xxxxxx. Barbara

Leave a Reply

